Vintage Sears Garden Tractors
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hi everyone!

4 posters

Go down

Hi everyone! Empty Hi everyone!

Post  mountainlassey March 4th 2012, 1:54 pm

I just wanted to introduce myself Smile I've been reading this forum and others for the last month since I bought a 20 acre farm in the midwest. We're moving in June, so I had some time to get things ready. Since the people there now use horses for all the work (we don't have any), I knew I had to get a garden tractor. A real one, not those things they sell at big box hardware stores.

Our plans (I am a middle-aged female vet with three daughters from 18-25) are to put 3 acres in vegetable production, 2 acres in hay, and mowing; leaving the trees alone and partially landscape the rest (I want a sightseeing trail through the woods and a bridge over a little creek). The whole place came with excellent fencing; some even for llamas. And though we are not afraid of work we knew that we would need a 'ground contacting' machine. But of course, like anything, we did not want to go out and spend huge dollars. I read a lot of forums and watched a lot of Youtube videos.

What we ended up with is a (1978 or newer?) Sears GT/16 with 3pt hitch. It is huge. It already has the farm tires (V tread) on it, and came with a Sears mower deck with three blades, a Sears dozer/snow push blade (heavy), Sears 1 bottom moldboard plow (darn that thing is heavy), and a Sears cultivator (with the curved blade tines and two discs in the middle which rolls on wheels, ridiculously heavy).